The Board is responsible for the proper management of Group Strategy and direction. It oversees the activities and direction of Element Materials Technology Group Limited. The Board currently has five members and includes a combination of Executive and Non-Executive Directors.

Element's Board members are:

Jo Wetz

Jo Wetz

Jo was appointed CEO of the Element Group in 2019 and is responsible for the overall strategic direction and growth of the Group. He previously served as the Group CFO since 2012 and was a board member of the Group following its buyout from Stork in 2010. Before Element, he built a career in private equity and led the investment in several global testing businesses in both Europe and the US, including the buyout of Element in 2010.

Under Jo's leadership, Element has experienced remarkable growth, expanding from 20 locations in five regions in 2010 to a global business with over 270 locations in 30 countries and a workforce of more than 9,000 employees. This growth is a testament to his efforts in driving organic growth and integrating 47 acquisitions. In his tenure at Element, Jo has led several successful buyouts, including those with 3i and Bridgepoint, as well as the take-private of Exova in 2017. Most recently he oversaw the successful buyout by Temasek in 2022.

Ruth Prior

Ruth Prior

Ruth was appointed as Chief Financial Officer (CFO), joining Element’s Executive Team and the Board on 1 June 2020 and reporting to Jo Wetz, CEO. She is responsible for all the finance, procurement, legal, tax and IT activities within the business, and brings significant financial control, M&A, change management, strategy and business planning expertise to the Group.

Ruth spent two and a half years as CFO at William Hill Plc, leading its finance, assurance, legal and procurement functions, as well as playing a critical role in driving company strategy and business transformation. She was also instrumental in the IPO of payments processing business Worldpay in 2015 – the largest ever private equity backed IPO in the UK at the time.

Ruth is a qualified accountant with a degree in Biochemistry and spent nearly a decade in private equity, working across a variety of sectors including waste, renewables, music, publishing and retail.

Board director

Prof. Dr. Dr.h.c. Uwe Krueger, FREng.

Uwe in currently Vice Chairman of the Europe, Middle East & Africa region at Temasek. Prior to joining Temasek in 2018, Uwe was CEO of WS Atkins plc, a global engineering firm. Previously, he held roles as President of Cleantech Switzerland, Operations Director and Senior Advisor with TPG Capital, CEO of OC Oerlikon Management AG, and various positions at Hochtief AG. He started his career with A.T. Kearney.

board director

Nagi Hamiyeh

Nagi is currently the Head of the Europe, Middle East & Africa region at Temasek. Prior to joining Temasek in 2005, Nagi was a banker with Credit Suisse First Boston's Energy Group. He began his career at Bain & Company.

Alan Leighton
Non-Executive Chairman

Allan Leighton

Allan is a Non-Executive member of the Element Materials Technology Group Board. He has had an extensive and varied business career holding a series of high profile roles for major corporations in the food, retail, FMCG and communications sectors including that of Chief Executive of Asda and Pandora; Non-Executive Chair of the Co-operative Group; and Non-Executive Chairman of the Royal Mail, Entertainment One plc, and Wagamama Ltd.

Allan holds an honorary degree from Cranfield University, an honorary fellowship from the University of Central Lancashire, and an Honorary Doctor of Letters from York St. John University.